Menú Principal

You TubeTwitterFacebookFotos




 Universidad de Puerto Rico Nivel Central



Program Review Standards (CEC)


CEC synthesizes the specialty sets into seven major preparation standards organized under four areas of focus: learners and learning environments, curricular knowledge, assessment, specialized pedagogical skills, and professional and collaborative skills. CEC has further analyzed the seven preparation standards into key elements with which preparation programs align program assessments of special education candidates for CEC Professional Program Recognition.

Standard 1:

Learner Development and Individual Learning

Beginning special education professionals understand how exceptionalities may interact with development and learning and use this knowledge to provide meaningful and challenging learning experiences for individuals with exceptionalities.

Standard 2:
Learning Environments

Beginning special education professionals create safe, inclusive, culturally responsive learning environments so that individuals with exceptionalities become active and effective learners and develop emotional well-being, positive social interactions, and self-determination.

Standard 3:
Curricular Content Knowledge

Beginning special education professionals use knowledge of general3 and specialized curricula4 to individualize learning for individuals with exceptionalities.

Standard 4:
Assessment 4.0

Beginning special education professionals use multiple methods of assessment and data-sources in making educational decisions.

Standard 5:
Instructional Planning and Strategies

Beginning special education professionals select, adapt, and use a repertoire of evidence-based instructional strategies6 to advance learning of individuals with exceptionalities.

Standard 6:
Professional Learning and Ethical Practice

Beginning special education professionals use foundational knowledge of the field and the their professional Ethical Principles and Practice Standards to inform special education practice, to engage in lifelong learning, and to advance the profession.

Standard 7:

Beginning special education professionals collaborate with families, other educators, related service providers, individuals with exceptionalities, and personnel from community agencies in culturally responsive ways to address the needs of individuals with exceptionalities across a range of learning experiences.